North East



about us


North East

The North East is one of the sixteen regions in Ghana. It is situated in the northern part of the country. The region was created in 2018 with its capital at Nalerigu. The North East Region shares a border at the north with the Upper East Region, is bordered on the west by Upper West Region on the east by the Togo border, and on the south by Northern Region.

The political administration of the region is through the Local Government System. Under this administration system, the region is divided into 6 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) (made up of 2 Municipal and 4 District Assemblies).

The NRSA will set up District Road Safety Committees at these levels to provide for road safety related services.

The National highway 2 (N2) and the National highway 10 (N10) pass through the region. National highways are class of roads and highways that form the trunk routes between major urban centres.

The blackspots on the N2 include:

  • Baduri Market

The blackspots on the N10 include:

  • Gbimsi
  • Gao
  • Nalerigu Junction
  • Zanguu Junction
  • Wongu Junction
  • Walewale
  • Karimenga Hills
  • Wulugu
  • Nasia
  • Janga Junction
  • Nasia
  • Janga Junction

Office Location: 1st Floor, Dr. Musah Yamba Issahaku Building,
Gambaga-Walewale Road [opposie Gambaga Girls’ Senior High School]
GPS Address: NE-0006-4696