Eastern Region



about us


Eastern Region

The Eastern Region of Ghana is located in the southern part of Ghana and forms one of the sixteen administrative regions of the country, with its capital at Koforidua

The Eastern Region is bordered to the east by the Lake Volta, to the north by the Bono East and Ashanti Regions, to the west by Ashanti region, to the south by Central and Greater Accra Regions. The Region has thirty-three (33) Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) making up its administrative geography on its land area of 19,323 square kilometres.

The NRSA will set up District Road Safety Committees at these levels to provide for road safety related services.

In terms of road networks, the region has 7,147 kilometres of roads. The Eastern Region remains pivotal in the road transport space of Ghana; receiving and facilitating the freight and passenger movements and distribution across several regions of the country at any point in time. It has a section of the National highway 6 (N6) [Nsawam to Nkawkaw] as an important part of its road grid.

The National highway 2 (N2), National highway 3 (N3) and the National highway 4 (N4) also pass through the region. National highways are class of roads and highways that form the trunk routes between major urban centres.

The blackspots on the N2 include:

  • Somanya/Akuse Junction
  • VRA Station

The blackspots on the N3 include:

  • Agomanya
  • Krobo Girls’ Senior High School
  • Asitey
  • Normico Clinic Junction

The blackspots on the N4 include:

  • Bunso Junction
  • Bunso Town
  • CMB

The blackspots on the N6 include:

  • Abeasua Area Council
  • Asuboi
  • Anyinam
  • Atiwa Rural Bank
  • Asafo Town Junction
  • Akim Asafo
  • Apedwa Junction
  • Apedwa Town (2nd Junction)
  • Nkronso Junction
  • Enyiresi Town
  • Danteng

Office Location: Ghana Highways Authority workshop premises
Intravenous Junction – Effiduase, Koforidua
GPS Address: EN-092-9068
Email: eastern@nrsa.gov.gh