about us



The Ashanti Region is located in the middle belt of Ghana. It shares boundaries with Bono East Region to the North, Western Region to the West, Eastern Region to the East and Central Region to the South. The Ashanti Region is the most populous Region in Ghana with a population of 4,780,380 (Source: GSS, 2010 Population and Housing census) constituting 19.3% of the National population.

Administratively the Region is divided into Forty-three (43) Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs). These are one (1) Metropolis, eighteen (18) Municipalities and Twenty-Four (24) Districts. The NRSA will set up District Road Safety Committees at these levels to provide for road safety related services.

The National highway 6 (N6) and the National highway 10 (N10) pass through the region. National highways are class of roads and highways that form the trunk routes between major urban centres.

The blackspots on the N6 include:

  • Boadi Junction
  • Nsenie Junction
  • Kentinkrono Junction
  • Akranteebesa
  • Tanoso Cemetery, Tanoso Presby Church
  • Abuakwa Police Station
  • Nkawie Junction

The blackspots on the N10 include:

  • Suame Junction, Suame Roundabout
  • Breman Junction II
  • Timber Market
  • Osgina Junction
  • Otuasekan Rural Bank
  • Sofoline Interchange
  • Trede Junction
  • Subin Akrofrom
  • Matthias Junction
  • Abrepo Junction
  • Nkoranza Junction

Ghana Highway Mechanical Workshop,
Dadiesoaba Street, Adum - Kumasi [opposite Department of Transport
GPS Address: AK-065-2666